About Grins Restaurant in San Marcos
In 1972, Mr. & Mrs. Lightfoot’s house (originally built in 1948) was converted into a restaurant. In 1975, Grins purchased the restaurant and served nachos, two styles of burgers and draft beer. The restaurant could hold up to 60 customers and hosted live music with the likes of Lyle Lovett, Robert Earl Keen, and the Beacon City Band. Grins Restaurant has now been expanded three times: once in 1983, again in 1987 to include a deck, and finally in 1996 the original deck was enclosed and Grins’ wrap around deck was built. Today, Grins can accommodate up to 250 customers and we have an extensive menu to choose from.
Our world-famous hamburgers and Texas sized onion rings are favorites among San Marcos residents, as well as our award-winning salsa that is made fresh daily. Some other menu favorites include Shiner Bock beer battered chicken fried steak, sizzling fajitas, and homemade dessert. To top off the great food being served, we are known to have one of the best Happy Hours in town.
Over the years, Grins has seen many changes and improvements, but the foundation of our restaurant has not changed. Our dedication to making Grins a fun and exciting atmosphere, combined with great customer service and award-winning food has been the key to our success for more than 40 years. Our mission is to carry on Grins tradition as a unique, local restaurant and continue to serve the residents of San Marcos and the students at Texas State for many more years to come.